Domain names

General information Saint Kitts and Nevis

The Federation of Saint Kitts and Nevis (also known as the Federation of Saint Christopher and Nevis ), located in the Leeward Islands, is a federal two-island nation in the West Indies. It is the smallest nation in the Americas in both area and population.

The capital city and headquarters of government for the federated state is on the larger island of Saint Kitts. The smaller state of Nevis, lies about 2 miles (3 km) southeast of Saint Kitts, across a shallow channel called "The Narrows".

Historically, the British dependency of Anguilla was also a part of this union, then known collectively as Saint Christopher-Nevis-Anguilla.

Saint Kitts and Nevis are geographically part of the Leeward Islands. To the north-northwest lie the islands of Saint Eustatius, Saba, Saint Barthélemy, and Saint Martin. To the northeast are Antigua and Barbuda, and to the southeast is the small uninhabited island of Redonda, and the island of Montserrat, which currently has an active volcano.

Saint Kitts and Nevis were amongst the first islands in the Caribbean to be settled by Europeans, with Saint Kitts having the distinction of being home to both the first British and French colonies in the Caribbean. Saint Kitts and Nevis is also the smallest nation on Earth to ever host a World Cup event, after successfully being one of the host venues of the 2007 Cricket World Cup.

General information

CountrySaint Kitts and Nevis
Top-level domain (ccTLD)kn
CurrencyEast Caribbean dollar (XCD)
Area+261 km2


The flag of Saint Kitts and Nevis was adopted on September 19, 1983. It was the winning entry in a local competition. The flag consists of the Pan-African colours, although officially the colours have a different significance: