Domain names

General information Germany

Germany, officially the Federal Republic of Germany (German: Bundesrepublik Deutschland is a country in West-central Europe. It is bordered to the north by the North Sea, Denmark, and the Baltic Sea; to the east by Poland and the Czech Republic; to the south by Austria and Switzerland; and to the west by France, Luxembourg, Belgium, and the Netherlands. The territory of Germany covers 357,021 km² and is influenced by a temperate seasonal climate.

During the 16th century the German regions became the center of the Protestant Reformation. As a modern nation-state, the country was first unified in 1871. After World War II, Germany's territory was divided into two separate states along the lines of allied occupation in 1949. It became reunified again in 1990. Germany is a founding member of the European Union, part of the Eurozone since 1999, and with over 82 million inhabitants it comprises the largest population among the EU countries.

Germany is a federal parliamentary republic of sixteen states (Bundesländer). The capital and largest city is Berlin. Germany is a member of the United Nations, NATO, the G8, the G4 nations, and signed the Kyoto protocol. It is the world's third largest economy by nominal GDP, the largest exporter of goods, ranked sixth in military expenditure, and is home to the third-highest number of international migrants. Germany has developed a high standard of living and established an advanced system of social security. It holds a key position in European affairs and is recognized as a scientific and technological leader in several fields.

General information

Top-level domain (ccTLD)de
Currencyeuro (EUR)
Area+357.022 km2


three equal horizontal bands of black (top), red, and gold